These tools will be figuring into the mix on my new recordings that are currently in process.  I have owned my Capybara 320 for 13 years now!  And, I have decided to add the Pacarana to the menagerie in my studio!

The increased power of the Pacarana is amazing to me and is about 1.5 times as powerful as my fully loaded Capy!  Great to have these two instruments at one’s fingertips.  The cool thing is that the new version of Kyma – Kyma 7 – has some amazing new features!!  I am really looking forward to putting a Kyma patina on the new records.

Kyma Patch

Kyma Patch

There are so many ways to work with Kyma that the composer does not really need to be limited in what they do with the system or really how they think about it.  For the ambient records that are my current projects Kyma will be used for drones, synthesis of new timbres, spatialization of sound sound sources and some general musical signal processing – such as reverberation and spectral processing.  But, there are obviously many more things you can do with Kyma.

Control Surface

Control Surface

Customizable control surfaces add a wonderful layer for interactivity for user developed patches.  Kyma 7 takes this to a new level of sophistication and user-friendliness. The iPad becomes a natural extension of the interaction with the system.

The Grid is a very welcome new tool that lets you try out all kinds of processing moves on your sound sources easily since it can self-propagate.

Grid

Grid

The Pacarana itself is a single rack unit device – but it can be expanded into a larger system easily by adding more copies – at the outset I will be using only one Pacarana but it will be tempting no doubt to think about expansion one future day and the notion of adding a couple more!

Pacarana

Pacarana

I will no doubt be mentioning in more specific detail the ways that Kyma 7 and the Pacarana are contributing to the new records.  I will also quite likely be posting some new session “out-takes” at the Soundcloud page – https://soundcloud.com/robert-scott-thompson – and, should I come up with some really good patches I will share those over at the Kyma community pages at Symbolic Sound.

If you are a serious sound person – composer, sound designer, media sound developer, EA musician or ?, you really should check out this amazing instrument.  The possibilities are really infinite and the sound quality is stunning.

http://kyma.symbolicsound.com/latest-press-releases/kyma-7-the-cure-for-blank-screen-syndrome/

Peace.

~rst

